Phone upgrade time!

I finally upgraded my iPhone 5s. The poor thing’s battery was shot and the system was starting to freak out and no longer ran smoothly so when Verizon offered to give me oodles of money for my old phone to upgrade to the newest, I decided to take it. I had actually been waiting for the iPhone 7 to come out so I could take advantage of a price decrease on the 6s since it was no longer the newest technology, but it turned out with the trade in promotion, getting the 7 was a much better deal. I’m going to give you my thoughts on the fancy new phone here. 

Likes

Touch ID-if you’ve had the iPhone 6 or 6s, this is nothing new, but it’s a feature I really like especially since the passcode has been expanded to 6 numbers. It’s super fast to open your locked phone. 

Night Shift-I was first introduced to a feature like this in the Oyster reading app. The screen slowly reduces the blue light emitted so your sleep patterns are less impacted by after dark phone use. The Oyster app used shades of red, iPhone is using yellow. It’s not as good, but it is system wide and much easier on my eyes this evening. I don’t know if this feature is new the 7, but I like it. 

Hey Siri-I like being able to yell at my phone while driving to get Siri to call or text people for me. I don’t have to reach into the cup holder or dig around in the front seat or my bag to get to my phone. Now if they could get Siri to better understand my hodgepodge of accents so she got all the words right, it would be close to my favorite feature. 

Apple Pay-I haven’t actually been able to use Apple Pay at the store yet but as more stores pick up the technology, Apple Pay will make up for my new phone case not having a slot for my debit card. Digging around for my wallet is not fun and my phone has a dedicated pouch on the inside of my bag that’s so much easier to reach. Better yet, Apple Pay is approved using my fingerprint through Touch ID so I don’t have to enter any long passwords. Life made simple folks. My finger on my phone while I hold it next to the cash register is as secure as it gets these days. More sanitary than passing around cards and cash too. I mean, does anybody ever think to sanitize their credit cards besides me? 

Swipe right for camera-This is great. I can’t tell you how many times I managed to miss the little camera icon to take a quick picture and by the time I got my finger in the right place the photo op was over. PS the pictures are clear. Really good camera on this phone. It’s not going to replace my DSLR any time soon, but perfect for snapshots. 

Dislikes

Apple products are pretty intuitive so I have a hard time really disliking anything, but some subtle differences in iOS 10 are annoying. My music quick button has its own page now. I used to just swipe up and click play; now I swipe up and right and click play. More work? Why? What was wrong with the old layout? But that’s probably just me. I’m the girl with all the folders on my home screen so I only have 1 page of apps. 

It’s a big phone. I resisted upgrading when my old phone first started going bananas because the phones are all so big. I can no longer have my phone securely in my back pocket. The extra screen space is nice and all and yes, there are bigger phones out there, but my hands are small and portability without a clip of some sort is no longer hands free and I’ve never had good luck with clips staying on the waist band of my pants-most of which do not have belt loops. 

The Health app still doesn’t sync with my Fitbit. Hello Apple, fix this!

They moved the power button-iPhone 6 and 6s users are used to this by now but since my power button has been on the top for the last 5 or so years, it’s a little confusing for me and I keep accidentally pressing it. The volume buttons take up more room on the left side too so I’ve been accidentally squeezing those as well. It’s going to take some getting used to. 

Other Notables

No dedicated headphone jack-I haven’t used the headphone jack since I got my LG Tones Bluetooth headset and a Bluetooth stereo for my car, so this is not an issue for me, but others might find the inability to charge the device while listening to music or talking with the wired headphones very inconvenient. 

Water resistant, not waterproof-I’m just glad if somebody dumps their drink over or my phone slips out of my hand during a bath I no longer have to seal it in rice and pray it still works afterward. I have no desire to use it underwater and if I want an underwater photo, I have an Olympus camera for that. 

There you have it folks! The iPhone 7 is mostly user friendly and is definitely a worthwhile purchase if you have an older iPhone to trade in right now. I suspect that since there weren’t that many new features, the great trade in deal was sponsored by Apple to drive sales, but that’s just fine by me. 

Leave a Reply

